Delicious No-Meat Chili

20120822-093332.jpg

One of my favorite things to do is to experiment in the kitchen with new recipes. In the past, I’ve tried making my own root beer, barbecue sauce, and soups and burgers.

I’m thinking that each week, probably on Wednesday, I’ll share a kitchen experiment here. This weeks experiment wasn’t actually too experimental, but it was a pretty big step forward in my own eating habits.

Yesterday afternoon I realized that I was craving chili. However, I am in the middle of an eating challenge with a few of the actors from “Tecumseh!” and chili is definitely hit allowed (red meat) under the rules. I could have made chicken chili, but instead, I decided I wanted vegetarian chili.

I went to Kroger, and after a short struggle where I walked the length of the store and back a few times trying to find my soy meat substitute, I walked out of the store with the following ingredients:

2 pounds of soy meat substitute

4 cans of Rotel diced tomatoes and green chiles

2 packages of chili powder

Once home, I added to the ingredient list the following because they were in my fridge:

1 red pepper, diced

1/4 large red onion, diced

I then more or less followed the instructions on the back of the chili powder for making chili.

While I was browning the soy meat substitute in oil, I made the observation to myself that I could probably go completely vegetarian if I wasn’t so weirded out by working with the soy. I definitely was not as weirded out by it yesterday as I have been in the past by it, so that seem like a good sign.

But once the meat sub is browned, then you just start adding in the rest of the ingredients. I started with the cans of rotel so that you can get the liquid in there in which the powder can dissolve into, but once it is all in the pot, let it come up to a slight boil while stirring frequently. Once it hits that boil, cool it down for a minute or two then it will be ready to serve. I ate mine yesterday with tortilla chips, and even with those each serving comes out I around 500 calories each – and it’s packed with vegetables. Definitely a nice way for me to get veggies into my diet!

I also apologize, I realized as I was eating I should have taken pictures of the process, but I’ll figure this blogging thing out eventually!

Leave a Reply

